Reality – Augmented part 1

Last year, around June, Niantic launched the much awaited, highly anticipated augmented reality hit – Pokemon go. For any 90’s child that grew up eagerly watching to see how Ash’s journey would unfold, this was a slice of virtual heaven. Finally we could catch them all. Finally we could be the very best. In my small town, there was at least fifteen to twenty people roaming about, finding the virtual characters, collecting much needed items, and of course, pitting their prized creatures against rival teams. It was perfect in every way, minus the many bugs that popped up. 

Sadly, with any craze, the hype train for Pokemon go started dwindling. For the active players such as myself this was a good sign. The servers crashed less, pokemon still spawned in abundance, waiting to be caught and trained, and less people to swoop in and steal your gym. 

With the warm weather we have been having lately, and the latest dump of generation two creatures, I grabbed a good friend of mine and went a couple towns over. The stops were plentiful and there were many different spawn areas for these creatures. We were in heaven! As we walked and collected items from stops, we deposited our eggs and anxiously waited for them to hatch. We found more generation two creatures than generation one, but we were far from upset. 

The best thing about this virtual world is that you can turn on a mode called Augmented Reality, which makes the game feel even more lifelike. It allows you to “see” the creatures in your phone, wherever your camera is pointed.

A wild ledyba appeared!

For instance, my friend and I returned to our small town and went to the stops we knew of. I turned on my AR mode, and suddenly busted out laughing. I begged my friend not to move as I calmed down. Unknown to him, he had a Ledyba sitting on his shoulders. 

Even though this game has seemed to have dropped off, I still play it, and find much enjoyment from it. Plus it makes me be active. If I want my eggs to hatch, I have to walk. While I hatch eggs I can collect items and catch all the pokemon! I don’t plan on stopping anytime soon, though the cold weather does slow me down. I am currently planning to get a group together during the summer to see how many silly pictures we can get! Until then, I’ll be collecting as many as I can! 

Leave a Reply

